Morrow County

Population: 11,166 (2017)

County Seat: Heppner

Energy Utilities:

  • Columbia Basin Electric Cooperative

  • Umatilla Electric Cooperative

  • Wasco Electric Cooperative

  • Pacific Power

How do Morrow County residents heat their homes?


Did you know?

Morrow County is home to Portland General Electric’s Boardman Coal Plant, Oregon’s only coal-fired power plant. The state’s Renewable Portfolio Standard requires the utility to phase out coal-produced electricity by 2040, and PGE expects to close its plant by the end of 2020.

In addition to the coal plant, Morrow has a number of other Energy Facility Siting Council-jurisdiction energy facilities:


Check out how solar energy has expanded in this and other Oregon counties since 1999.


Click the drop-down button to view another Oregon county.

Jennifer KalezComment